Music for Chamber Ensembles


nalim’s prism

Composed in May 2016, for violin and piano. Premiered in Milna, Croatia, July 2016.

Duration: 6:30

na-lims-prism-sample  na-lims-prism-sample-2




Composed in 2016, for Flute (hand clap) – Bb Clarinet/Bass Clarinet (claves) – Percussion (1 player) – Piano – Violin – Cello.

Duration: approx. 6:15 min.

« Sospeso » is a composition based on a tempera by Milanese painter/set designer/photographer Luigi Veronesi (1908-1998). I discover the work in July 2013 at the Gallerie d’Italia, Piazza Scala, Milano. The composition, a set of seven musical miniatures, is my reflection of the dynamic relationship between colours in the sequence of balanced and rhythmic forms articulated in Veronesi’s work. The title itself declares a lightness and a « suspension » that are the result of research consistently addressed to freedom of imagination and intensity of expression.

sample 1  sample 2


Wind Quintet #1

March 2016,  Wind 5tet sample 1  sample 2  sample 3  sample 4


Bone & Bass

composed in December 2015, for trombone and electric bass.

Bone & Bass sample



composed in April 2015, for trombone quartet

Bonéoles sample



Dream Reflection

composed in January 2015, for flute – clarinet – oboe – bassoon – trumpet – trombone – french horn – piano – 2 violins – viola – cello – double-bass.

Dream Reflection, drawn from a dream sequence, features elements of surprise, unexpected juxtapositions, as an expression of the unconscious…

The first section of the piece, in a « freely » tempo, is about seeing our reflection in a dream as our true self; it highlights both our flaws and positive attributes, and we should learn from our flaws and how to improve them. The clarinet introduce a motif that will reoccur in different moods and textures but gradually lead toward a livelier context…

The second section, Giocoso « playful », is a reflection (mirror) on how you want others to see you. The faster tempo features some rhythmic games while a little motif gradually develops, grows amongs other melodies; that motif will unexpectedly take over the entire piece at the end.

The audience will recognize some elements of both jazz and baroque music; an association that recurrently appears in my « musical » dreams…


Keene State College


From a poem by Émile Nelligan (1879 – 1941, Québec, Canada.) The poem « Bergère » is public domain.

Composed by Réjean Marois between September and November 2013, for Tenor solo, C Flute, Bb Clarinet, Violin, Viola, Cello and Piano.

Duration: 5:23 minutes.

score sample 1, score sample 2, score sample 3


In The Scope Of Time

Composed by Réjean Marois in January 2014 for violin, viola, cello, flute, trumpet, trombone, basse trombone, piano & percussion. Duration: 5:10.

The piece was composed in the spirit of «Commedia de’ll Arte» with a «modern» flavor. I intend to use simple specific themes and textures, but interjecting modern rhythms, cadences and harmonies. I can see the piece being pantomimed in a short dance setting.


In The Scope Of Time (Trio version)

adapted by  Réjean Marois in September 2014 for flute, violin & piano.

score sample 1 – score sample 2 – score sample 3 – score sample 4


Ross (piano solo)           

(in memoriam Ross Taggart, 1967 – 2013)

On January 9, 2013, Ross Taggart left us. Equally the master of both piano and tenor saxophone, Ross was one of Vancouver’s finest and most beloved musicians, admired not only for his superior musicianship but for his humour and generosity of spirit. Ross was a faculty member in the Jazz Studies Department at Capilano from 1988. During those years, I will never forget all the long minutes I spent in front of his teaching studio listening to his wonderful playing; and the first draft of the piece who will hear tonight was writen way back then, it was just in a lead sheet format, with a different name, hoping that one day he could possibly play it… Things went differently… So, last year, when I heard about this beautiful project (Convergence) and I decided to get back at the piece in order to complete it, true compose it, in the version you will hear tonight. I also have the privilege to have the piece: « Ross » premiered by a great friend and a wonderful musician, Mrs Grace McNab.

Part sample.pdf

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s